Ministry for Peace initiative – recruiting

January 28, 2018


“We must wage peace with sophistication and commitment just as we now wage war.” Marianne Williamson, US Department of Peace Initiative

In 2003 a bill was presented to Parliament to pave the way for the formation of a Ministry for Peace. Introducing his bill, Labour MP John McDonnell called for a new Government Department whose sole purpose would be to focus the resources of government on the promotion of peace and the eventual abolition of war. Diana Basterfield was active in organising meetings and a support network

In 2011 he set up and chaired the all-party group on conflict prevention and conflict resolution whose secretariat was provided by Engi. The group went into ‘abeyance’ seeking another way forward in 2016.

Jeremy Corbyn has revealed that he will appoint a minister for peace and disarmament if he becomes Prime Minister. The Labour leader outlined his plan in an hour-long documentary, directed by award-winning filmmaker Ken Loach, detailing his interactions with party supporters. A brief video on the subject may be seen here.

In November, Conscience met the Shadow Minister for Peace & Disarmament, Mr Fabian Hamilton, MP for Leeds North East at a meeting where many gathered to hear what a Minister for Peace & Disarmament would really do, what their role would consist of, and suggest their own thoughts on what the Minister’s remit should be.

A member of Scientists for Global Responsibility has forwarded information from Conscience, which campaigns for a progressive increase in the amount of UK tax spent on peacebuilding, and a corresponding decrease in the amount spent on war and preparation for war.

Conscience: Taxes for Peace not War is looking for someone to write an evidence-based academic paper on the pros and cons of having a Minister for Peace/Ministry for Peace in the UK based on experiences elsewhere and anticipated benefits here. The post will be fully funded by Conscience.

Details are here:





The Ministry for Peace

April 3, 2010

The Ministry for Peace is a citizens’ organisation working to create and support structures, in the UK and internationally, that promotes dialogue and other peaceful means to prevent, transform and resolve violent conflict.  

mfp was founded in 2003 by Diana Basterfield and MP John McDonnell who successfully presented a Ten-Minute Rule Bill calling for the establishment in the UK of a Ministry for Peace.  Two years later, it was a founding member – and host – of the first summit of the Global Initiative for Departments and Ministries for Peace, which currently supports members and campaigns in 35 countries. 

In 2006 mfp established the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Conflict Issues in the UK Parliament. The APPG provides a forum where Parliamentarians, government officials, NGOs, academics and others come together across the political spectrum on a regular basis for dialogue on issues relating to conflict.   

An advisory group to the APPG includes senior officials from the Foreign and Commonwealth Office, the Ministry of Defence and the Department for International Development, as well as senior politicians and representative from a number of leading peace and conflict NGOs.  mfp provides the secretariat to the APPGCI.

Parliamentarians who agreed to support the APPGCI group formally: 

Labour Conservative Others
Karen Buck John Bercow Lord Ashdown (LD)
Harry Cohen Tim Boswell Simon Hughes (LD) **
Mark Fisher Mark Lancaster Baroness Tonge (LD)
Neil Gerrard John Randall Elfyn Llwyd (Plaid Cymru)
Fabian Hamilton Lee Scott  
Kelvin Hopkins* Gary Streeter**  
John McDonnell**    
Ann McKechin    
Bob Marshall-Andrews    
Derek Wyatt    

**Co-Chairs  *Secretary

For more information about the APPG go to: .